PDA

View Full Version : Tackling the market.....

JFrank
12-03-2004, 04:24 AM
Hey all, I've been doing very well at poker and am deciding whether to start putting some of my money into the market (seems like a good time to jump in, or what?)... Only problem is I have ZERO trading experience.

I've been flipping through trading/investing magazines and websites and have come to the conclusion that playing the market, though similar to poker in many ways, is in fact much different. While there are a few tools to use in poker, and strategy is relied upon heavily, there is seemingly ENDLESS information when it comes to trading and investing. I can't even figure out where to start. I don't want to just buy on a whim, but I don't think I can absorb the information necessary to make smart buys. I guess I can just throw it into some mutual funds, but that seems like a cop-out. What do you suggest, whats the best way to get into the market?

adios
12-03-2004, 08:04 AM
There have been many threads and posts on this subject. Look through the archives.

FWIW

1. Educate yourself on why stocks are generally thought to be a better investment than bonds in the long run including what the long run is.

2. Educate yourself on the fundamentals of valuing equity.

3. The standard recommendation on this forum for folks in your situation is buy an index fund representing the valuation of the broad market that has low transaction costs and minimal management fees like SPY (an Exchange Traded Fund), Vanguard, etc. and expect to hold it long term.

Paluka
12-03-2004, 01:02 PM
[ QUOTE ]

I guess I can just throw it into some mutual funds, but that seems like a cop-out. What do you suggest, whats the best way to get into the market?

[/ QUOTE ]

I hardly think this is a cop-out. This has been a winning trade over the long haul in general. I think trying to be a pro in an area where you are an amateur is folly.

MaxPower
12-03-2004, 03:58 PM
Amazingly adios and I agree on something.