PDA

View Full Version : MTTs -- What's the Point?

Rhone
12-02-2004, 11:53 PM
OK, I'm not quite a beginner, but this is a beginner's question.

I don't get multi-table tournaments. Not 2-table SNGs, but the big ones with hundreds or more competing against each other. You spend a lot of time chasing a very slim chance of winning a lot of money. Do decent players really have a positive ROI entering these things? Obviously you only have to win one big one to have a positive ROI for a very long time, but on average, for a good but not great player...?

I've been playing limit online for about 9 months now, and have worked my way up to 3/6. This afternoon I entered a MTT for the first time, just for kicks, some $5+1 thing on Empire that attracted about 300 people. Busted out after two hours in 55th place or something like that. And all I could think about was how much I could have made two-tabling 3/6 for those 2 hours.

So, I'm just curious. What attracts people to these games? Is it the chance to play a lot of hands safely for a little money? Or is it more the same thing that makes people buy lottery tickets, a chance at a big win?

Thanks for any responses. I'm particularly interested in hearing from players who enter MTTs on a regular basis.

Rhone.

ThaSaltCracka
12-03-2004, 02:39 AM
the potential pay out for a win makes it worth it. You pay $10 for a tourney that may have 600 people. If you make the final table, you can earn upwards of $2k. Plus they are fun man. I find ring play boring and monotonous, but tourney play is fun, because there are always chips moving all over the place, plus lots of dead money early on.

In the big tourneys, sometimes I just like watching the "players left" total. Sometimes it looks like a stop watch. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

Chris Daddy Cool
12-03-2004, 07:30 AM