PDA

View Full Version : Raising vs Limping with AK & similar hands

LockLow34
12-02-2004, 05:33 PM
Was re-reading HEPFAP last night and came across the section where Sklansky says that preflop raising isn't necessarily good because by making the pot big, you give chasers the correct odds to draw to gutshots, backdoor flushes and the like. While you want them to chase (profit) you don't want them to have the correct odds for doing so, so limping is better than raising preflop.

Now isn't raising preflop with hands like AKo and the like a +EV move, since you likely hold the best hand and are winning a larger percentage of the pot so you want more money IN that pot you're a favorite to win?

To me this looks like a conflict. However, I'm sure the decision to raise vs. limp is situationally dependent. My question is what criteria differentiates these situations? Is it # of players in the hand? Position? Type of table? Something else?

(I'm still learning, so if I've gotten some or all of this wrong, feel free to correct me.)

Rudbaeck
12-02-2004, 06:23 PM
I think the common opinion on this matter has changed since the last edition of HPFAP.

senjitsu
12-03-2004, 02:23 AM
A lot of the answer here depends on the game. In a game typical of the kind of game HEFAP assumes -- that is to say, one in which players will fold postflop if they are not getting the correct pot odds for a call.

In a typical small to mid stakes game, where people will draw regardless, you are better off raising for equity (miller discusses this in SSHE).

jc

[ QUOTE ]
Was re-reading HEPFAP last night and came across the section where Sklansky says that preflop raising isn't necessarily good because by making the pot big, you give chasers the correct odds to draw to gutshots, backdoor flushes and the like. While you want them to chase (profit) you don't want them to have the correct odds for doing so, so limping is better than raising preflop.