PDA

View Full Version : flopped top set, now what?

coolhandluke
12-01-2004, 06:11 PM
let me start out by saying I'm new to all this, and don't have a clue the best way to handle many situations, but I am learning.

in 3 of my last MTT I got busted out after flopping top set, the first two times I had QQ, and the flops came Qxx with 2 suited. I figured I had the best hand, and since I had a very tight table image, didn't want to drive everyone off opening with a bet, so I checked raised each time. Each time I had one caller, the turn comes no help, and I after the other guy opens, I push, only to lose on the river to a flush.

how should I play this situation after the flop comes up?

aceragclubs
12-01-2004, 06:48 PM
You should play it the exact same way, and not get so unlucky. Some people will call any amount with flush draws, and there's not much you can do about it. You got your money in the pot as a pretty big favorite both times.

RavenJackson
12-01-2004, 06:54 PM
With a flush draw on the board I would not check raise a set post flop. You are creating a false hope [which is sometimes good when you have a monster] that may give pot odds to the person on a flush draw.

Depending on the sizes of the stacks and your position I would ensure that anyone on a draw pays to try and suck it out, which may require pushing [or betting significantly post-flop].

Good Luck /images/graemlins/smile.gif

coolhandluke
12-01-2004, 07:03 PM
thanks guys, I thought I was doing it correctly, but after getting burnt 3 times in a row I was afraid I had made a bad decision. I can live with getting beaten by luck, but not by my own mistakes.

ZootMurph
12-01-2004, 07:05 PM