PDA

View Full Version : Avoid the Matusow blow up

rocflight
12-01-2004, 05:14 PM
I am a newbie looking to strengthen my game and would appreciate any advice from you veterans out there.

I really wish to be a top notch player, and I believe I'm steadily getting better at the game. However, working against me is that fact that I am a very impatient person, which definitely doesn't mesh well with poker. I have to say that many a time I've blown my chances late in tournaments, whether holding a big stack with high placing aspirations or a low stack with the intention to sneak into the money. Somehow I'm just prone to the infamous Matusow blow up where I just blitzkrieg either all or most of my chips on bluffs or very weak hands.

It's frustrating when I kind of lose my mind for the span of a hand and waste all my hard fought efforts on a hand I should never have been involved in in the first place.

Just wondering if any one of you out there have had this type of problem in your poker playing career and if you had any advice to fight this type of behavior.

zaxx19
12-01-2004, 05:21 PM
Your impatient?? Quit poker right now. Go into sales or something, poker and impatience just is a horrible combo. Lets put it this way I sat @ 2-4 NLH in Mandalay Bay my 2 month of playing and never got a hand bigger than AQs / 99 made my 200 bucks last 7 hours till I was bad beated on the river. Point being you need absolute patience in poker.

JJH3984
12-01-2004, 05:45 PM