PDA

View Full Version : early dilemas

stripsqueez
12-01-2004, 05:06 AM
a virgin post in this forum

i've taken to running multi table NL tourneys whilst multi tabling short handed limit but i'm still a novice to multis

today i played a $100 buy-in no rebuy NL tourney on paradise - i got to do the double up dance early and after a couple of blind steals i had T3500 with the blinds at 50/100 and about half the roughly 200 strong field gone - i get 44 on the button and limp after 1 other limper - both blinds play

flop is 4h 6h 10c - checked to me and only the BB calls my bet of T250 (the BB started the hand with T200 less than me)

turn is Kd - BB checks and then calls my T900 bet

river is 8h and the BB pushes

should i call ? - did i play it ok before the river ?

stripsqueez - chickenhawk

kuro
12-01-2004, 06:00 AM
On the flop:
Your raise on the flop was kinda weak. You still give your opponent odds to chase the flush and straight draws that are out there. I'd have made around a pot sized bet there.

On the turn:
I'd have probably pushed here. If you get called then you have a decent chance of more than doubling up and if he folds then you've still added a considerable chunk to your stack.

zaxx19
12-01-2004, 09:10 AM
Make a strong bet on the flop. If someone has a decent hand he might see you on a steal or on a draw and reraise. If someone is on a flush draw he might reraise, either way your getting money into the pot as a favorite with a chance to trap someone. Doyle Brunson's section in SS on betting with a set really openend my eyes on this. Oh and Im probably all-in on the turn..at the very least I make a huge bet.

Geoff
12-01-2004, 09:23 AM
Forgive my audacity in responding.

Why risk your whole pile here? No read on the BB but why risk the trny when you can outplay them down the road. You may very well lose the hand.

P.S. Thanks for your dirty outs reply to my post some time ago. great insight for a newbie.

Geoff

Stoneii
12-01-2004, 09:37 AM