PDA

View Full Version : My experiences moving up, from .5-1 to 2-4 to 3-6 (limit)

null
11-30-2004, 01:02 AM
I started playing limit seriously in October, at the .5-1 level at Party. I decided that once I was reasonably satisfied that I was a winning player, I'd move up. And if I was a losing player, I'd move up too. Because at lower limits no one respects your raises, and your AA gets cracked by 72o on the river, a victim of the schooling effect (I'm kidding, I'm kidding).

From what I read on the forums, 1-2 was full of rocks, since loose players are drawn to the 6-max games. So, I resolved to jump from .5-1 to 2-4 once I had the recommended 300 BB.

I found that play at .5-1 was, as you all know, horrible (in a good way). Reading SSHE served me well, and I did well at that level. I finally signed up for a rakeback deal at Empire, which I should have done a long time ago. I also ordered a 22" monitor, and started 4 tabling, which I continued to do through 2-4 and currently 3-6. A dual monitor setup is pretty sweet for poker, I recommend it to all that don't have it. I'm thinking about replacing my old 17" monitor with another 22" (or an LCD), and cranking it up to 6 tables, but for now 4 tables is good.

I ended my stay at .5-1 with 5.13 BB/100 average over 14,035 hands. I was somewhat concerned that my game wasn't totally solid for 2-4, since I had seen others post much higher winrates at .5-1, but I had also seen people argue that winrates over 4 BB/100 were unsustainable. I was thinking about posting one of those "Should I move up?" posts full of pokertracker stats, but reading bisonbison's bitching about them convinced me not to. Plus I've got the impression that people get too serious about moving up in limits, when it's not always that big a deal. I moved up to 2-4 with somewhere around 400 BB, well above my goal of having 300 BB.