PDA

View Full Version : Exploiting the greater advantage later... in freakin huge pot

Emmitt2222
11-29-2004, 02:12 PM
Last night I reread the section on protecting your hand by betting and raising and the other section on waiting for the turn to take advantage of a greater +EV situation in SSHE. So I started playing today and realized that I am having some trouble distinguishing when to raise to protect or when to call on the flop and then bet on the turn if a blank comes. What follows is my feeble attempt. MP2 is pretty big LAG, especially post flop in a big pot.

Party Poker 0.5/1 Hold'em (9 handed)

Preflop: Hero is SB with Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif, Q/images/graemlins/club.gif.
UTG calls, UTG+1 folds, MP1 folds, MP2 calls, MP3 folds, CO calls, Button calls, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, BB folds, <font color="CC3333">UTG 3-bets</font>, MP2 calls, CO calls, Button calls, <font color="CC3333">Hero caps</font>, UTG calls, MP2 calls, CO calls, Button calls.

Flop: (21 SB) 3/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(5 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">Hero bets</font>, UTG calls, <font color="CC3333">MP2 raises</font>, CO calls, Button calls, Hero calls, UTG calls.

With the PF raiser just calling the bets Im not concerned he has KK or AA anymore so I think I have the best hand but here is where I decided to wait and see if I could exploit a bigger advantage on the turn incase MP2 was betting a draw which he did sometimes. Should I just keep betting because the pot is already large?

Turn: (15.50 BB) 2/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(5 players)</font>
Hero checks, UTG checks, <font color="CC3333">MP2 bets</font>, CO calls, Button calls, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, UTG calls, <font color="CC3333">MP2 3-bets</font>, CO calls, Button calls, Hero calls, UTG calls.