PDA

View Full Version : SSHE Book Club Discussion - Part One: Gambling Concepts

MEbenhoe
11-29-2004, 12:11 PM
This section should be mostly review for anyone who has read TOP, and I'm not sure that I'd advocate reading this book without reading TOP first. Because of this fact I'm expecting that there won't be too many questions or a ton of discussion on this first section. If there are any please still post them.

So to build conversation if you're participating in this book discussion maybe a nice little intro and background on your poker playing would be a nice way to kick things off.

As for myself:

My name is Matt, and I'm a 2nd year student at UW La Crosse. I'd played a lot of poker in HS (mostly stud and draw), but was first introduced to HE in college. I've been a winning player at the $0.50/$1 and $1/$2 6 max games as well as all limits from $0.25/$0.50 to $5/$10 of full ring games online. My B&M experience is somewhat limited. The only games I've played are the $3/$6 and $4/$8 games at Canterbury, which I've been pretty successful at also.

Well I'm hoping this book club will get good participation. Just as a refresher here's the schedule again that I posted about a week ago:

Part One: Gambling Concepts.....Nov 29-Nov 30

Part Two: Preflop Play.....Dec 1-4

Part Three: Postflop Concepts (Intro - Evaluating the Flop:Drawing Hands).....Dec 5-8

Part Three: Postflop Concepts (Large Pots vs Small Pots - Afterthought).....Dec 9-12

Part Four: River Play.....Dec 13-16

Part Five: Miscellaneous Topics.....Dec 17-18

Part Six: Hand Quizzes.....Dec 19-....

Twitch1977
11-29-2004, 01:40 PM
I'll kick in a little background about myself. I started playing poker in July when a friend gave me $10 on Paradise. I started at .02/.04 games and have moved up the limits (.02/.04 -> .05/.10 -> .10/.20 -> .25/.50 -> .50/1) following the 300x BB rule for bankroll management and I'm now playing .50/1 and having a bit of a crappy run.