PDA

View Full Version : Momday Orleans NL Tourney Hand

02-07-2002, 01:41 AM
I consider myself a very good NL Hold Em, having won the tough OrleansMonday NL Hold Em tourney once, and finishing in the money another time, and

having finished in the last 20 players quite frequently. I've only been playing NL for five months, so I'm still learning the nusensce of NL

player. Here's a hand that illustrates that I'm still green and always

learning:

With about 5 tables left, the blinds were 100-200, and I'm sitting with T4500 and dealt QQ in late position. The first two players to act are

short stacked and go all in. I decided I was going to move my entire stack when it

came to me, but unfortunately, Oklahoma Johnny Hale two seats to my right go

all in before me....I put him on AQ, AK or a high pair high because I don't believe Johnny Hale would risk his entire stack on a sub standard hand, but then again, he may telling us that he wants the short stack to himself. My

first instinct was to muck my hand....because I remembered the rule about avoiding late confortations with big stacks, but I figured if he had AK..I was a slight favorite but still a crapshoot. Anyways, after much deliberating wity myself, I decided to go all in. Unfortunately, Johnny Hale had AK and flopped quadKings....to bust me out. Did I make the right play?? In my novice tournament

mind, I keep telling myself I should have mucked my QQ.

Comments??

Incidently, if anyone plays the Orleans NL Tourney...I'm that guy that usually wears the Atlanta Falcons garb!

02-07-2002, 10:32 AM
Usually, given 3 all-ins in front of you, QQ should go in the muck. However, in your spot specifically, I would probably have played.