PDA

View Full Version : Too passive with cowboys?

Mr_RC
11-27-2004, 08:53 PM
I'm wondering if I let myself be bullied out of a +EV situation. I'm still fairly new to poker but working to improve...please be gentle.

MP1 is a LP-P fish playing 45% of his hands and MP2 is a rock. I'd caught MP1 bluffing once (did not see the cards but folded to my river re-raise with an A on the river previously). In this hand I may have just gotten cold feet. Opinions?

Ultimate Bet 0.50/1 Hold'em (10 handed)

Preflop: Hero is CO with K/images/graemlins/spade.gif, K/images/graemlins/club.gif.
UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, MP2 calls, MP3 folds, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, Button folds, SB folds, BB calls, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, MP2 calls.

Flop: (10.50 SB) 2/images/graemlins/club.gif, 8/images/graemlins/heart.gif, J/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(6 players)</font>
BB checks, UTG+2 checks, <font color="CC3333">MP1 bets</font>, MP2 calls, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, BB folds, UTG+2 folds, MP1 calls, MP2 calls.

Turn: (8.25 BB) A/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">MP1 bets</font>, <font color="CC3333">MP2 raises</font>, Hero folds, <font color="CC3333">MP1 3-bets</font>, MP2 calls.

River: (14.25 BB) J/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">MP1 bets</font>, MP2 calls.

Final Pot: 16.25 BB

Hack
11-27-2004, 08:59 PM
If MP1 is really as LA as you say he is then an ace is very possible. Your cowboyscould be beat in two places and if MP2 is a real rock then he has an ace too, and maybe even TPTK(AK). I can't see a rock staying in the hand with just a jack when someone has 3 bet on an ace falling. I would put the rock on AK/AQ and maybe the maniac on a crappy ace. The maniac could also have a crappier two pair. That's the thing about maniacs. They are harder to read. I am almost sure the rock has you beat, however.