PDA

View Full Version : How about shorting financial institutions?

Juggernaut118
11-27-2004, 12:30 AM
Short the ones that are highly leveraged with derivatives.
http://www.gold-eagle.com/editorials_04/chuhran112604.html

GeorgeF
11-27-2004, 11:54 PM
"highly leveraged with derivatives"
Which are those?

laserboy
11-28-2004, 06:11 AM
Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. They use derivatives to hedge against fluctuating interest rates and to help them cook their books. They got completely hosed by declining interest rates the past few years and have like $20 billion in unrealized losses.

And, oh by the way, they hold TRILLIONS in debt and their business model revolves around buying bad loans from mortgage lenders at the peak of the real estate bubble.

Scuba Chuck
11-30-2004, 02:01 PM
JP Morgan

As a professional, I don't recommend shorting for anybody. Even the 'pros' I know, usually don't short, and when they do, kick themselves for knowing better. Shorting is for traders who work on the exchange...

JP Morgan has an enormous short commodities derivatives market. This is not necessarily a very known topic. I heard about it through one of my bond managers who manages about $100 billion of A rated bonds or higher. They won't touch JP Morgan's bonds (even though rated A) due to this derivatives risk.

In fact there is rumors that a large move in gold could put JP Morgan into bankruptcy. How do you like them apples?

I invest to help me keep my money. To gamble, I play poker.

laserboy
12-16-2004, 06:59 AM
SEC: Fannie Mae Violated Accounting Rules (http://biz.yahoo.com/ap/041216/fannie_mae_2.html)

I can't wait for this house of cards to fall.

adios
12-17-2004, 08:11 AM
On this $9 billion paper loss, the immediate problem is that FNM used hedge accounting inappropriately.