PDA

View Full Version : QQ against draw

Shorty35
11-25-2004, 01:52 PM
This hand has been eating at me for some time; I would appreciate any critique.

$500 buy-in NL B&M tourney (foxwoods a few weeks ago). We are about 1/3 of the way through the field - which is thinning fast. I am new to a table with about T3800 (probably around high average) and there are two large stacks at the table (one is Evelyn Ng on my immediate right) when the following hand comes up:

Blinds at 100/200. I am dealt Q /images/graemlins/spade.gifQ /images/graemlins/diamond.gif UTG+1. I raise to T600. All fold to SB who calls. SB is a large stack with about T12,000. BB folds.

Flop comes: 9 /images/graemlins/club.gif8 /images/graemlins/club.gif4 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

SB checks, I bet T1200, SB calls. At this point I put him on a flush draw; I figure that he would have bet trips with this flop.

Turn card comes 7 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif. I dont like the str8 potential of the board right now - but I was pretty certain that he was on the flush draw.

SB checks and I bet T1200 (should I have pushed?; the possibility of a trips slowplay was still nagging me), SB calls.

River comes J /images/graemlins/spade.gif, which I figure is good for me.

to my surprise, SB bets T800 and I make a crying call figuring (correctly) that he backed into a str8.

SB shows K /images/graemlins/spade.gif,T /images/graemlins/spade.gif.

Did I play this wrong, or did I just end up on the wrong end of a big stack who decided to thread the needle for a big pot?

willperkins
11-25-2004, 02:37 PM
I would have pushed the turn, although it probably would not have made any difference. If he called t1200 with two overcards and a back door str8, he will surely call t2400 with two over cards and an open ended str8 draw.

I think he was incorrect to call your inital preflop raise, and your flop bet (in a ring game yes, in a tourney no) but it worked out for him.

Synth
11-25-2004, 02:47 PM