PDA

View Full Version : Turbos vs. normal SNGs

willie24
11-24-2004, 02:41 PM
from reading the forum, it appears that the general consensus is that it is easier to beat normal speed SNGs for a higher ROI. Some posts suggest that this is because the faster the blinds escalate, the more "luck" comes into play, reducing the edge that good players possess.

This seems odd to me. in fact i would suggest the exact opposite.

I think it's fair to say that the most important SNG skill is endgame ability. endgame is where most players play worst, therefore giving good players most of their edge.

essentially, turbos create more endgame situations, and reduce low-blind waiting time. (in low-blind situations, the best players have a smaller advantage than in the endgame).

granted, i just started playing on a site that has Turbos, but so far, my expectations have been surpassed even. they seem to be extremely easy games to me.

i'd like to hear some arguments from the other side here.

wegs the wegs
11-24-2004, 02:59 PM
I fail to see how a turbo would produce more endgame situations than a normal SnG. Would they not produce the same amount?

Turbo's are a game of bingo. If your monster hand doesn't come up in the first 20 hands you are done. If a good player has an advantage on the table the advantage will be visible in a 100 hand tournament compared to a 25 hand tournament.

Even in the end game situation, how many hands can be played heads up before blinds are 50% of each players stack? Skill in poker is shown over the long run, playing just a few hands eliminates any and all skill, and it does just come down to who hits their hands.

jcm4ccc
11-24-2004, 03:07 PM
[ QUOTE ]

in low-blind situations, the best players have a smaller advantage than in the endgame

[/ QUOTE ]

Imagine that you are in an SnG with 9 other players, and you are the worst player. Would you rather that the blinds:

A. Stay at 10/15 throughout the whole match
B. Double every 5 minutes