PDA

View Full Version : Question from a Newbie

BatsShadow
11-24-2004, 02:29 PM
Hi Everybody. I'm new around here. Let me tell you my story. Then I have a few questions.

I started off at Pacific Poker on the demo money side. Back then the site was relatively unkown I guess, because even with play money, the play wasn't that horrible (people would actually fold, not capping ever pot, etc.).

When I signed up on the real money side to freeroll, I was awarded by some special promotion with $10. Never deposited a cent. After I felt like I was good enough, I started playing their 0.05/0.10 game. With a lot of hard work, I doubled my money, and therefore doubled the stakes.

Just last week my bankroll hit $70 and I decided to try the 0.25/0.50 game. I totally caught a bad streak of cards so I dropped back down. My BR is currently a little over $50.

My plan is to keep working my way up the stakes, building a nice bankroll, and maybe someday play in the WSOP. I have had dreams of going pro, but don't know if I'd really want to play full time so I think my current idea is just to play at a comfortable level and use some of my poker earnings kind of like bonus money.

Ok, a few questions:

1) I know everyone recommends 300 BB to play at a certain level, but do you guys think that less is ok if you are disciplined enough to drop back down when you lose some? I'm still planning on trying the 0.25/0.50 again when I get to $70. The idea is, if I drop back to $50, I lost and have to go back down to 0.10/0.20 again. I suppose you could look at this as "taking a shot" as many times as it takes. Has anyone done this type of thing?

2) What do you guys all have against Pacific Poker other than it doesn't work with Poker Tracker? The only other thing I can see that isn't cool is that it doesn't let you multi-table. BTW, I'm currently considering working on a piece of software to export stats from Pacific Poker, possibly enabling them to be imported into PT.