PDA

View Full Version : Absolute newbie question from a loser.

spindizzy
11-22-2004, 11:59 PM
Sorry if I come across as a total whiner, but anyway, this is my question.

I have been playing poker with friends for some time, always doing quite good. Recently I signed up for online play and I've lost heavily on Holdem. No big sums, but a lot of hands. I've been smart enough to stay low in wagers.

I took the time to go through my hands from the 22th to today. I've played 174 hands and won only 7. This is one in 25.

I have tried to play reasonably tight. I see the flop about 20% of the times. I'm not an expert by any means, but even if my game is worthless, I can't see it. When I know the odds favor me, I bet big, and usually lose.

Is it possible to have streaks of "bad luck" this intense, or am I doing something fundamentally wrong? Is this beyond hope, and would you tell me to simply stop playing? I like playing, I just don't like losing all the time. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

I could provide full hand history if anyone would be interested.

Kind regards, Thomas

spindizzy
11-23-2004, 12:04 AM
(Oh. And I'm sorry if we're not supposed to post about things this amateurish. I just didn't really know where to ask and your place seems nice.)

gamblore99
11-23-2004, 12:12 AM