PDA

View Full Version : Two frequent hands

Madd
11-22-2004, 04:30 PM
Hi all,

great forum!
I’m quite new to the poker scene and play 20+2$ SitnGos at the moment. There are two frequent hands I find difficult to play. What is the common game plan with these?

1) You hold JT in the SB and complete. Flop comes T66. Your move against 1, 2, 3, 4 opponents?

Usually I throw out a bet of ½ to ¾ of the pot to test the waters. However after being called or raised I’m not that much more knowledgable about where I stand. Then it depends on my read of the caller(s) if I move on or not

2) You hold Axs on the button. Flop comes with no pair, but two of your suit. First better makes it 150 to go, three callers, you have a stack of 750. Odds + Implied Odds dictate a call. However putting 1/5 of my stack into the pot for a 19% chance of hitting the turn is quite a lot. Same if the turn brings a blank. Shall I call another big bet which in 4 out of 5 times leaves me short stacked?

(I belong to the fraction of players who think it is profitable to play speculative hands early in the tournament – at least at the 10$ and 20$-level. This shell be no issue.)

adanthar
11-22-2004, 04:47 PM
1)I would bet big (or checkraise) into 1 or 2 people. Any more than that, and I'd check fold. A raise here is an autofold as any T that raises you probably beats you.

2)Your options are to call or push. The viability of a push strongly depends on the board; A9 on a board of 752 is much better than on a board of KT2. If your outs aren't all clean and a push is guaranteed to be called, you should probably just call and let pot odds determine your turn action. In no case can you fold here.

This is why playing Axs on Party 30+3 and below, with smaller stacks, is very problematic past level 1.

stillnotking
11-22-2004, 04:51 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Hi all,

great forum!