PDA

View Full Version : ?'s about Linksys Wireless Range Extender

vetman81
11-21-2004, 11:34 PM
Does anyone use one of these? If so, is it worth the money? Thanks.

CT11
11-22-2004, 01:07 AM
depends on what you're doing with it. I personally would just get a second AP.

~CT

VinnyTheFish
11-22-2004, 01:12 AM
I do not use one. My regular wireless covers my house and my porch. I never really tried to see how far I could go.

Friday, I was at our new local gentleman's "sports" club. One guy had his laptop with wireless internet. We were in an industrial area, no hotels/Starbucks around, only businesses. The closest houses were about 100 yards+ away.

I figured he had a satellite internet or some new service that I did not know of. So I asked him how he was internet connected?

He said he simply picked up someone’s wireless network signal. I am not an expert. I have a very small idea about how this entire wireless thing works. Just something to think about.

vetman81
11-22-2004, 01:19 AM
Right now my PC is in the basement. I was thinking about getting this so that I could get a stronger signal upstairs. If I got another AP, how could I set it up without running wires all over the place? That is what my main concern about that is, unless there is an easier way. Thanks.

emonrad87
11-22-2004, 01:41 AM
Could you put your cable/dsl modem and router upstairs and then connect the downstairs PC to it wirelessly? Like, do you have a cable outlet that you could use? You can put your router anywhere without having it directly connected to a PC. You really do want your router as high as possible, the coverage is much better that way.

climber
11-22-2004, 02:04 AM
I considered buying the range extender and instead returned my Linksys for a Netgear access point.

I was having big range problems in a big old house. Searches I did online through various forums turned up a lot of unhappy linksys folks and a lot of happy netgear folks--at least as far as range is concerned.