PDA

View Full Version : Why is there no NL Omaha?

DougI
11-20-2004, 05:32 PM
My friends and I recently started playing Omaha to mix it up.
However, from looking at one or two internet sites, it doesn't appear that anyone plays Omaha in a NL format.
Can someone explain why this is so? or confirm whether NL Omaha does exist to some capacity at certain sites or B&M places?

I can only imagine that NL Omaha is non-existant because the game would get too out of control and strategy would go out the door, in favor of gambling on most hands.

cielo
11-20-2004, 05:41 PM
I do know that the local B&M (Hawaiian Gardens, CA) spreads a $100 buy in NL Omaha
game every day around 3 pm. I can't offer any evidence for the internet though.

Your idea of why no limit omaha may not exist reminds me of a thought by D. Sklansky in his "Tournament Poker for Advanced Players", I think it was when discussing his All-in pre-flop or fold "System", he talks about how he sees that as a strategic disadvantage of No Limit type games, however that was for tournaments not ring-games.

But what would make omaha more "out of control" potentially than NL hold'em? (honest question not smart-ass question that anticipates no reasonable responses)

cielo

greywolf
11-20-2004, 05:57 PM
the player with the temporary nuts tends to wanna overbet the pot enough to shut out all compertion.

Atropos
11-20-2004, 07:03 PM
Yeah I think greywolf got it right. I remember reading in Ciaffones "Omaha Holdem - The Action Game" that pot-limit is the best structure for Omaha, because the opponents can be observed over multiple betting rounds, in nolimit nearly every hand would be an all-in fest from the flop on.