PDA

View Full Version : It's about damn time (total bragging)

mmbt0ne
11-18-2004, 12:29 AM
I've always thought of myself as a pretty athletic guy. I was one of those people who wasn't great at most sports, but was good enough to get by in all sports. The two exceptions to that were basketball and baseball. I quit playing baseball when I was 10 though, because I hit .756 for the season, and still didn't make the all-star team. Couple that, with the fact that it was my dad who really wanted me to play baseball, and he had just moved out, and baseball was dead to me.

Basketball, was a different story. I started playing in 2nd grade, because my cool older neighbor really liked to play. I convinced my parents to put a hoop over the garage, and it stood there until the end of my senior year, when I finally ripped it down dunking(a process that itself was about 4 years in the making). Over the years, I've played 20 seasons of competive basketball. One winter season every year from 2nd to 12th grade, a spring season from 7th to 12th grade, two intramural teams, and a open mens league team this year.
I never played for a school team, well, kinda, but I quit the freshmen team about 3 practices in because the coach was an ass. "Sure he was," you say. Well, one of the kids he wouldn't play left our school after sophomore year, and got a full ride to play at Oak Hill Academy, and he lied to us about being a letter winner at Kentucky (my whole family went to UK, you can't put that by me). AAU was out of the question too. I was good, but not good enough to get the quality minutes on a team that competitive that would justify the money I'd have to spend. Plus, the other AAU teams in Atlanta, have rosters with the likes of Dwight Howard, Josh Smith, and Randolph Morris (2 NBA first rounders, and UK's top recruit this year).