PDA

View Full Version : Comments/help with a stud 8 hand

Iron
11-17-2004, 12:14 PM
Hi! This is my FIRST post here. I'm relatively new to Stud 8, but have been playing for a few weeks and doing reasonably well at the $1/2, $2/4 and $3/$6 games. I was hoping to get some comments about how I played the following hand as I have been going through it myself and am not sure what I should have done differently.

I'm thinking I should have just called on the river to start off, seeing as seat 4 had the potential 7 lo (which he ended up winning lo with). Prior to that I knew I had at least the best lo and was jamming the pot to make the others pay for their last card... is that correct here?

Any comments appreciated and thanks in advance.

$3/$6 Stud 8, 6 handed

Dealt to Iron [4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 3 /images/graemlins/heart.gif] 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif
Seat 2: X, X, A /images/graemlins/spade.gif
Seat 3: X, X, T /images/graemlins/diamond.gif
Seat 4: X, X, 5 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif
Seat 5: X, X, 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif
Seat 6: X, X, 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Seat 4 brings it in for $1
Seat 5 folds
Seat 6 calls
Iron raises to $3
Seat 2 calls
Seat 3 folds
Seat 4 calls
Seat 6 calls

Iron [4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 3 /images/graemlins/heart.gif] 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif, 6 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
Seat 2: X, X, A /images/graemlins/spade.gif, J /images/graemlins/spade.gif
Seat 4: X, X, 5 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 9 /images/graemlins/club.gif
Seat 6: X, X, 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif, 9 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Seat 2 checks
Seat 4 checks
Seat 6 checks
Iron bets $3
Everyone calls

Iron [4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 3 /images/graemlins/heart.gif] 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif, 6 /images/graemlins/spade.gif, 4 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
Seat 2: X, X, A /images/graemlins/spade.gif, J /images/graemlins/spade.gif, 3 /images/graemlins/spade.gif