PDA

View Full Version : Laptop computers - which processor is best?

Mano
11-16-2004, 08:16 PM
I'm thinking about getting a laptop computer so I can more easily bring work home (I am a programmer). Is there a site that anyone knows of that has benchmarks for all the different processors (Centrino, Pentium 4, Celeron, Pentium M, Athelon, etc.) that are now available for laptops, or do you all have any specific reccomendations? I am most concerned about performance - I will most likely almost always have the thing plugged in, so battery life and weight are not that big of concerns to me.

BusterStacks
11-16-2004, 08:31 PM
Pentium 4 if weight and battery life are not big issues.

ThaSaltCracka
11-16-2004, 08:35 PM
I have an AMD athlon XP-M, and it works well for me.

mikeyp
11-16-2004, 08:48 PM
Id go for an Athlon or a Pentium M....

It seems sorta weird to me how you are a programmer and don't know much about laptops...

ThaSaltCracka
11-16-2004, 08:50 PM
lol, for real.

astroglide
11-16-2004, 09:03 PM
thinkpads are the cream of the crop for pc laptops. for cpu reviews hit anandtech.com.

Popinjay
11-16-2004, 09:35 PM
P4 with Hyperthreading is the fastest, Centrino is the best with weight and battery life factored in

Blarg
11-16-2004, 09:51 PM
This is the best resource I've found for detailed laptop info: www.notebookforums.com (http://www.notebookforums.com)

Also there is www.notebookreview.com (http://www.notebookreview.com)

There are also standard web sites you can check for reviews and tests like anandtech.com, tomshardware, sharkyextreme.com, maximumpc.com, pcmagonline.com, cnet.com, etc.

I'd get a Pentium M processor. These are the "mobile" processors Intel makes. That means that they're made to get much more battery life and draw lower power than regular chips of either Intel or AMD. They can get over 4 hours, sometimes over five hours, in a laptop, whereas other chips get between 1 and 2 hours, often much closer to 1 hour.