PDA

View Full Version : Unknown players...

03-27-2002, 06:18 PM
Hi all

I was playing heads up agaisnt a loose agressive player when an unknown player join us.. were then 3 handed and Unknown post the BB LAG the SB and im the button

Im dealt AcKs

I raise Sb 3 bets BB call i cap it and they call

Flop T T 4 rainbow

BB surprinsingly leads out after Sb check, i think about raisin but i just call and Sb folded

Turn 6 (no draws possible)

He bet i call

River 2

He bet i call

Please rate the play of both me and my opponent. Im new to shorthanded and need help!

Results to follow

Thank you

03-27-2002, 06:20 PM
He shows 77 and takes down the pot...

He sure read me well..

03-27-2002, 08:02 PM
He didn't have to read you too well, because nothing fell that was likely beat him. The only way you could beat him would be with a higher pocket pair than his, which wasn't likely, since you didn't raise him on the flop. Your most likely hand was Ace high.

The pot has 12 bets in it. Since there's a good chance you've got 6 outs if you're behind, which is only about 7 - 1 against, and some chance you're ahead, you're pretty much committed to seeing the hand through.

I think raising on the flop may have been a good play. Based on your pre-flop betting, your most likely hands were a large pair or A/high kicker. By calling on the flop, you're pretty much saying you don't have a pair. Raising might have gotten you a free card on the turn. He's not likely to put you on a T, but he might put you on a large pair. At any rate, it would have made your hand more difficult to read.

03-27-2002, 08:02 PM