PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Pot Odds Question

Dave H.
11-12-2004, 05:27 PM
I posted the following in the Probablility section, but it probably should have gone here instead (please help!):

I'm a beginner and have read SSH and HEFAP. I've read many of the posts on this great site, and decided to read TOP based on all the info I've read. After getting throught the pot odds section, I got myself totally confused and I really thought I had understood this before!

Here's my "practical" question:

I have four to a flush on the flop. To call a bet at that time, do I need pot odds of at least 1.9 or do I need pot odds of at least 4.1?

What if I miss on the turn. What pot odds will I now need?

Thank you.

Bodhi
11-12-2004, 06:33 PM
4.1 I believe, you have 9 outs (8 outs is 4.75-1). If you're in late position try the free card play by raising a small bet, and then checking the turn.

Dave H.
11-12-2004, 06:46 PM
This seems to be a very critical point, i.e. I'm sitting there with a four flush on the flop and saying it will be the nuts if I get a draw with either of the next 2 cards. I guess I can understand how I need at least 4.2 pot odds on ONE card, but why on TWO cards?
HELP!...that makes a big difference!

Bodhi
11-12-2004, 06:57 PM
oh, ok I didn't see the specific nature of your question. With a 4-flush on the flop you will make your draw 35% of the time by the river (that's a figure I've memorized). Make sure that the bet you invest is not more than 35% of the pot and you are fine (implied odds make this a border you can lean over, too).

Mangatang
11-13-2004, 11:37 AM
No, no, no. Always use the odds of hitting your hand on the next card only. So for a 4-flush on the flop, you need to be getting about 4:1 to call.