PDA

View Full Version : Omaha-hi-lo help needed !!

08-15-2002, 12:01 PM
I'm pretty new to omaha and usualy play holdem in the mid-limits. Live and online. I almost never raise before the flop at omaha-hi-lo . Exept in very late position when first in or to build a big pot with a realy top-hand like AA23 if at least 1 A is suited. Is this too tight ?? I also have trouble with my blinds. What hands do you call a raise with ?? I almost always throw my hand away if it isn't a real good one.

THX

08-15-2002, 01:29 PM
Raising preflop in Omaha/8 adds only a little to your expected value but greatly increases your swings. I too rarely raise preflop.

As for the blinds it is not really a bargain to get a discounted price to play a piece of cheese. If your hand is weak throw it away. You will be out of position even if you get a miracle flop so you will earn less than if you limped with a weak hand on the button.

It is almost impossible to play too tight. You would probably have a positive expectation if you only played A2 with a suited Ace. You may die of boredom waiting for a starting hand but in your typical loose game you would would probably earn enough to cover many rounds of blinds with this stategy.

08-15-2002, 03:19 PM
I also have trouble with my blinds. What hands do you call a raise with ?? I almost always throw my hand away if it isn't a real good one.

Wait, I thought you said you had trouble with your blinds.

"Almost always throw your hand away if it isn't a real good one" is spot-on perfect for low-mid limit O/8.

08-15-2002, 05:34 PM
If you are a tight/aggressive player, then the advice by chaos and alias are right on.