PDA

View Full Version : Holdem and Omaha 8

07-15-2002, 05:53 PM
I have been playing both Holdem and O/8 at Paradise Poker for almost 2 years. Although both games have been profitable the fluctuations at Holdem have been much greater and the level of play in the O/8 games is significantly worse than the level of play in the Holdem games.

My Brick and Mortar experience is limited to about a dozen trips to AC and LV playing almost exclusively Holdem with no O/8 play.

My question to the forum is to those who have played both extensively in live games. Are the O/8 games easier than the Holdem games at similar limits?

07-15-2002, 05:57 PM
Funny how I was thinking about asking the same question. So I've heard Omaha HL has lower standard deviation for a good player than playing holdem? I only have limited experience playing Omaha HL so I'm wondering if it's true. Thanks.

07-15-2002, 07:19 PM
I've played a lot of B&M HoldEm and Omaha8 in California in the last 2 years, and keep fairly detailed records.

Overall, Omaha8 is a more profitable game for me (about 2BB/hour vs 1.3BB for HoldEm), but the variance is MUCH higher. This is largely because of the typical nature of the Omaha8 games in CA - extremely loose (this is at places like Commerce, Bay101, Lucky Chances, Viejas, Oceans11). Even playing a solid tight-aggressive strategy, you typically find 3-7 players in these low-limit games drawing all the way to the river to non-nut hands.

Now don't get me wrong, the average low-limit HoldEm game in CA is similarly loose, it's just that with 4 cards vs. 2 and the Hi/Lo aspect of Omaha8, your average loose player has much more to like when they look down at their hand.

So I think my answer is that it depends greatly on the texture of the O8 game - I've played in O8 games at the Mirage that were much, much tighter than in CA with much better players.