PDA

View Full Version : NL O/8 - help

07-01-2002, 11:25 AM
I posted this message in the tournament area but only received one reply, so I am hoping that I can get some help from the O/8 players here.

I am going to be entering an 0/8 tourney that starts out limit (I have played these before) and switches to NL - where I have no experience. If anyone could provide some advice, I would appreciate it.

07-01-2002, 11:05 PM
At the local cardroom I play in they have a weekly tournament that follows this structure, the no-limit doesn't occur until the last or last two tables.

Although it would seem that with O/8 there would be a lot of preflop limping, and then the person who flopped the nuts would bet all in, this is not what I have experienced. It seems like most people wait until they have any A2 or A3suited, or AA and raise all in. So, I usually wait until I have a very coordinated hand to call and hope for the best. There doesn't appear to be much skill in this game other than watching what hands make other opponents push in, since there are still a lot of split pots you do get a good opportunity to do this.

Thanks,

acesover8s

07-02-2002, 08:51 AM
iblucky4u2 - When you think about it, after you have made the final table in a limit tournament, at some point the limits become so high that you don’t have enough chips to cover a bet each of the four betting rounds (unless you have one of the big stacks, and maybe not even then). Thus when you voluntarily enter the action against a larger stack you are either feinting or committing all your chips. (If you’re feinting at this point, it’s a very risky tactic against an opponent with a larger stack than you). I have often thought that when you reach this point in a limit tournament, the possibility of facing a raise which would put you all-in on this betting round or the next must be similar to that which you face in a no-limit tournament.