PDA

View Full Version : Omaha 8: Strange scoop

06-28-2002, 12:47 AM
Online $2/4 game, nine-handed.

I pick up AsAd6s5d UTG. Right or wrong, I decided to raise it. One cold-caller behind me and BB come along for the ride as well.

Flop: Q-J-4r, with two backdoor flushes for me. BB bets, I call, CC calls. Is this a poor call btw? Is raising an option, to perhaps clean out my runner-runner low outs and set outs vs KT?

Turn: 6d, giving me a decent low draw, nut flush draw and a pair connecting with the board. BB checks. My move? What's my move if BB bets? Right or wrong (I am an Omaha novice!), I bet. CC drops, BB calls.

River: Offsuit Deuce, giving me a very decent (third nut) low. BB checks. I bet my decent low with a pair of Aces high. I am called and I scoop.

I was a little surprised to be scooping, given that the BB bet out on a flop containing just one low card.

lars

06-28-2002, 01:35 AM
I pick up AsAd6s5d UTG. Right or wrong, I decided to raise it.

Better to raise than to call. You might get tight A3' and A4's to drop.

Turn: 6d, giving me a decent low draw, nut flush draw and a pair connecting with the board. BB checks. My move? What's my move if BB bets? Right or wrong (I am an Omaha novice!), I bet.

I'm not sure here. You're starting to get a hand. Are you betting to make people drop out? or betting to build the pot? If you hit a high diamond, will anyone pay it off? I think this bet may have merit. You may have gotten an eventual 2-pair out of there, setting up your AA for the scoop.

I was a little surprised to be scooping, given that the BB bet out on a flop containing just one low card.

Well, that 2 on the end was a nice card for you. Someone sitting on a hand like A2TJ got his draw dinked, and you got it all.

Interesting hand. I was surprised that an online 2/4 game was so tight.

06-28-2002, 08:04 AM
“I pick up AsAd6s5d UTG. Right or wrong, I decided to raise it.”