PDA

View Full Version : O8 pot odds

05-10-2002, 12:06 AM
I got this from a post on playwinningpoker.com, for Ray Zee, I believe:

"After the flop, low is unlikely. A king on either of the next two cards and you're looking at a scooper. There is $72 in the pot, assuming both blinds are active players (otherwise a bit more)... Is it correct to see one more card for six dollars? Odds against catching a king on the next card are 43 to 2 against or 22.5 to 1 against. Will there be 6*22.5 = 135 dollars in the pot after one more card? I don't think so. Therefore playing to see one more card is also incorrect."

I am still learning about pot odds, but shouldn't the odds against be 45:2 instead of 43:2? I count 45 cards left out there after the flop. Do you subtract 2 from 45 to get 43, and if so, why? Probably a stupid question.

On another topic altogether, I just got my first AA23 double suited, and it's been a long while. My nut flush came on the flop, no low was possible, of course it won, but there wasn't much action. I wish the threat of the flush hadn't happened so soon...

05-10-2002, 05:12 AM
"I am still learning about pot odds, but shouldn't the odds against be 45:2 instead of 43:2? I count 45 cards left out there after the flop. Do you subtract 2 from 45 to get 43, and if so, why? Probably a stupid question."

43 to 2 against improving is correct for the hand odds. The reason is that 43 cards do not help you while 2 cards help you.

Once you know 2 cards help you and all the rest do not, and once you also know there are a total of 45 cards, yes, you can subtract 2 from 45 to get the number of cards that don't help you.