PDA

View Full Version : Limit to No-Limit online

toby
11-08-2004, 02:27 PM
I'm looking for some general pointers here for online no-limit play. I started playing online after getting hooked in small NL home games and immediately lost a couple hundred, probably to you guys. I switched to limit, read a few books, and made it back and more. Anyway I want to make the transition back to NL, but I'm not sure how to do that. I feel comfortable playing live games, shorthanded or ring, because I can see my oppenents. However online I still suck at NL, quite frankly.

Should I try nut-peddling until I find a comfort level? Stay away from draws except nut draws in later positions? I've gotten stacked a few too many times with top pair/overpair hands, whereas in limit that would just cost me a few bets.

phil_ivey_fan
11-08-2004, 02:31 PM
Why not go about it the way you did w/ Limit. Buy books and read.

I don't play much limit, but I know that "implied odds" play a huge factor in NL play.

toby
11-08-2004, 03:44 PM
I haven't found a book that specifically covers small stakes NL online. Super/System is mostly about NL with deep stacks, and Pot/No-Limit Poker by Reuben&Ciaffone I don't think translates to games like 25 or 50 NL in Party Poker.

Wayfare
11-08-2004, 03:51 PM
Read posts by some of the people here, for starters I recommend:

Bunky, myself (humbly), DrPublo, Fimbulwinter, Sponger15bb, BK, etc.

All have very solid advice.

toby
11-08-2004, 04:37 PM
Are there any specific threads you would recommend that you could share (or what I should search for in this forum?)

EarlCat
11-08-2004, 04:48 PM
Why not find a site with cheaper NL games for practice?
UltimateBet for instance has some NL tables with $.01/$.02 blinds. It would take quite a while to lose a few hundred there.

spentrent
11-08-2004, 05:20 PM