PDA

View Full Version : Bullets first hand

juanez
11-08-2004, 03:49 AM
Let me begin with a disclaimer: I am not one of the "on line poker is fixed!" crowd, so please don't flame the sh!t out of me for posting this. This isn't a whine post either; I'm just curious what you tourney folks have seen.

I truly believe that on-line poker isn't fixed. I'm not a programmer, don't know anyone working at any poker web site and I'm up significantly this year after studying 2+2 books and posts really hard. Why would the powers that be favor me? They don't.

Anyway, I've been playing lots of $10 1-table sit-n-go's on UB the last week or so. 90% of the time I'm playing 1/2 or 2/4 on Party so the UB tourneys are not my usual gig.

On the UB tourneys there always seems to be "one of those guys" who goes all in on the first hand of the tourney. It also seems that there is one who gets AA on the first hand really often. On Friday night I started keeping track.

From Friday evening until now, I've played 28 $10 sng's (and counting - not much going on this weekend...lol) and I've done pretty well. 17 of those tourneys had a player with AA in the hole on the very first hand that I've seen. I assume that everyone who had AA on the first hand called any bet. If not, the #'s are even higher.

In the tourney I'm playing in right now, me and one other guy got AA on the first hand of the tourney and split the pot after we both went all in after a raggedy flop (I was one of those guys this time - lol). After that, I decided to post my results here.

Is seeing AA on the first hand this often simply an oddity, is it normal? Can you math geniuses show that it's statistically, ummm, reasonable?

SmileyEH
11-08-2004, 05:01 AM
Anything is reasonable given enough iterations. Think the infinite monkey theorem: take a monkey and give him an infinite time to type away at a keyboard. Eventually he will type without error the entire works of William Shakespeare.