PDA

View Full Version : new stud hi lo player - a question

kylma
11-07-2004, 02:14 PM
Hello,

First, I'm new to this forum. I have logged in hundreds of hours playing online poker now, mainly holdem, but recently also omaha hi lo, omaha hi, 7stud (in chronological order) and now I'm practicing 7stud hi lo.

I am studying Zee's hi lo book.. How suitable is the advice in Zee's book when I play at Party 0.50/1? The ante is 25 cents and many people play any 3 cards.

I'm not very happy with what has been going on so far. Is there something wrong with the 25c ante? Zee's starting hand recommendations make me play very tight. This means that after I muck 10 hands I have lost 2.5 bucks.. And in stud luck is such a factor that no starting hand is a clear favorite especially against several other hands. This makes me wonder, am I supposed to win my antes back by playing this tight, and only occasionally being lucky to get half of the pot? I feel I am not indeed getting monsters such as flush with low cards too often here.

Anyway, the other players seem to play any 3 cards and they do it passively.. Should I make adjustments to Zee's recommendations? Now I mainly watch them transfer chips to and from each other, and the only thing that is going into that flow is my ante contributions, and the only thing going away from that flow is the rake..

Summary: is the ante not normal, should I adjust my starting hands, or am I just getting an awful run of cards and I should be able to win my antes back (plus more)?

Thanks, have a nice Sunday

B Mando
11-07-2004, 02:39 PM