PDA

View Full Version : 3/6 O/8: Fold top full to a raise?

02-12-2002, 03:50 AM
3/6, Omaha/8 at Hollywood Park.

I'm in the Big Blind (there's only one blind at HPC) with TJ8x. Four limpers, I check:

Flop: Th Jh 8h

I don't particularly like this flop, so I check, next person bets, fold, fold, call, I call (big mistake?) hoping for the board to pair:

Turn: Th Jh 8h Js

Yay! I check, planning for a check raise. Next guy checks (darn), button bets (yay!). I check raise, next guy folds, button 3-bets (boo!).

Now, at this point, can I just assume the button has a straight flush? He, like the rest of the whole table, have been limping in with damn near anything under the sun. I'm new to Omaha, so I'm not exactly sure. What could he possibly 3-bet me on a check-raise with? 8's full? No. 10's full? No. Ace high flush? No... What should I do? Results later.

02-12-2002, 06:35 AM
Cap it. My guess is another lower boat most likely 8s or 10s. If I get beat by an occurance that happens once every 3,224 hands (straight flush) well so be it, but otherwise I'm capping the sucker.

Of course tonight I was headsup (after raising preflop) in an O/8 game with AA35 and the flop comes A22. J on turn, A on river and all streets capped. It goes without saying that the other player had 22.

So what did he have, Q9d?

02-12-2002, 06:38 AM
"Now, at this point, can I just assume the button has a straight flush?"

Nope. Not in the 3-6 game at HPC!

"What could he possibly 3-bet me on a check-raise with? 8's full? No. 10's full? No. Ace high flush? No... What should I do?"

Sooga - I think you should have check/folded to the bet on the flop. Your top two pair is obviously not going to win for high and you have only six outs to make a boat which, because of the distinct straight flush possibility, will not be the nuts.

However, if you're going to play this hand hoping to make a full house, then when you do make your full house I think you should play the hand.