PDA

View Full Version : Need help explaining something from Rounder please...

Xelent
11-06-2004, 08:16 AM
Hello everyone, I am not very good at expressing myself or giving examples to someone and I was looking for a math savy poster to help me explain something. In the movie Rounds, Matt Damon "bluffs" Chan for a 4th bet preflop and Chan folds. How can I explain to sometone using numbers and logic with examples that it was incorrect to do so. I tried explaining, but it was like talking to a brick wall.

jgorham
11-06-2004, 08:55 AM
Just explain that whenever you put a bet into the pot, it is no longer yours. So when someone 4bets preflop, it isn't a matter of the first player having to match 4 bets, its one more bet that can win 7 (and thus odds so good there is no way you can fold).

Xelent
11-06-2004, 06:52 PM
They were trying to tell me that my money is already in the pot and dead money, which really is an argument for me and that it is even money to make this call. That there are no pot odds because it is heads up and pot heads are only with more people.

Zetack
11-06-2004, 07:32 PM
[ QUOTE ]
They were trying to tell me that my money is already in the pot and dead money, which really is an argument for me and that it is even money to make this call. That there are no pot odds because it is heads up and pot heads are only with more people.

[/ QUOTE ]

Very very funny.

--Zetack

Cosimo
11-06-2004, 07:58 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

Sounds like you were arguing with friends of yours. Make sure you continue to play with them--you'll take their money if they think like this. (They'll take yours if you think there are no pot odds heads-up.)