PDA

View Full Version : Was I right to muck 8s?

Harv72b
11-05-2004, 11:16 PM
This is my first post here, so please go easy on any formatting errors or whatever. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

I started playing seriously about 2 months ago, and have mainly focused on low-limit ring games since. But I do dabble in the occasional cheap tourney, and found myself in this situation in a $5+1 buy-in NLHE tourney on Empire/Party last night:

Blinds are at t150/300, and we've just cracked 30 players remaining, with payouts starting at 20th place. I'm in BB & relatively short-stacked with t2721. However, I can (barely) cover both opponents in this hand.

Reads: UTG has been very consistent in raising to 2xBig Blind with unpaired face cards. I haven't noticed any patterns with the SB.

Hero is dealt 8 /images/graemlins/club.gif 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif in BB.
UTG raises to 700 (2xBB)
5 folds
SB raises to all in (t1414)
Hero folds
UTG calls 714

I had intended to call the raise from UTG, but when the SB went all in on me I kind of froze at my monitor. I liked my 8s, and I was about 90% sure that I was facing two overcards from UTG, but I had no idea what the SB had. Probably pockets, probably fairly high ones, likely higher than my 8s. What it came down to was, being on the verge of guaranteed money, I shied away from putting half my stack up in what I figured was (at best) a coin flip situation against two opponents. I was positive that UTG would call the all in here, and was proven correct.

Did I make the right fold here? Or can any of you think of a good reason why I should have called, or even re-raised? Thanks. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

LLXC
11-06-2004, 04:08 AM
Easy fold. Raised and reraised.

Lloyd
11-06-2004, 04:12 AM
Definitely a fold here. The only hands I'd play would be AA, KK, and maybe QQ, JJ, AK.

Harv72b
11-06-2004, 07:00 PM
Okay guys, about what I figured at the time. I'll share with you the reasons why I second-guessed myself now.