PDA

View Full Version : Question for Elroy-E-Mini's

03-24-2002, 11:21 AM
Elroy, I just started trading the E-mini's to get my feet wet. Can you steer me to any online sites with either trading strategies or anything pertinent you would consider worth reading?

I've read many books on the subject, but I'm always looking for new and different ideas.

I use Interactive Brokers trading platform, and I like it a lot--are you familiar with it? What do you use?

Pit Bull is one of my favorite trading books, by the way. Marty Schwartz is great, and very funny.

"I'm going for the gold-Audrey! I'm going for the gold!"

(Read the book and the above line will make sense--funniest line in the book)

03-24-2002, 12:19 PM
The reason I recommended the old Paltalk.com e-mini chat room (I don't know where they are now), and Teachtrade, is because it's nice for once to, instead of just seeing the ticks on your screen, to hear people actually talking about buying and selling, to go with the ticks.

The other problem is that most of these traders who happen upon a way to make money, they don't really have any decent theory as to why what they are doing works. They have certain odd rules and habits - like don't buy after lunch during earnings season - but how much any one of these things actually adds to their bottom line is tough to separate.

The one thing I would recommend would be to start out working with 1-tick bars(!). And even, using Tradestation, try developing strategies and back-testing them on 1-tick and 10-tick bars. You probably won't find any algorithms that really make money, but writing and back-testing algorithms - and then seeing how various charts hit those algorithms - helps you develop sort of a concrete, systematic way of looking at charts.