PDA

View Full Version : Crazy Games (loooong)

12-07-2001, 07:12 PM
To all

I recently started playing in a regular home game. There are some ridiculous games these guys play and I don't know what, if any, stratgy there could be to them; I'm hoping the experts could point me in the right direction at least.

I need to preface this by saying that I usually sit out of games that I don't know or that are just plain luck, but in this particular game I'm gonna ruffle feathers if I don't give some action on these crazy games and I won't get to keep calling their form of Hold'em when it's my deal. Just FYI it's $2-$2 blinds, $2-10 spread limit to the flop, $5-$20 post flop, with an option to bet up to $40 on the river if there's an ace on board. Without getting into specifics this structure makes me a fortune against these guys. They're great... all fish and chips over there. Anyway following are some of the games they play. I'm sure some people know even if by other names and some I have no idea where they came from. Any advice at all would be appreciated:

1. Dr. Pepper - Players receive five cards. No bets or raises, everyone can take a sixth card for one bet and everyone can then take a seventh card for one bet. Player takes the seventh by holding the chip in his hand to declare. All players who stay for the 7th card show down and all losing hands pay the winner the amount of the pot. The pot carries over until only one person stays for the 7th card.

I'm not even sure if this could be called poker. I've been figuring I've got implied odds to take a 6th with anything that has a chance of becoming a monster. I won't take the 7th card unless I already have a big hand. with a small pot I'll play trips, for bigger pots I want a pat hand. The other guys routinely show down 1 and 2 pair hands.