PDA

View Full Version : Something wrong with my game?

WarDekar
11-02-2004, 03:13 AM
I started playing $20+2 and $30+3 SNGs a few months ago and did extremely well with them. Then I lost a little and lost a little of my profits back and took a little break for various reasons. Now I'm back, and through my first 14 tournaments back (I realize this isn't a very big sample) I'm down $204 on $20+2s only. My finishes are:

0 1sts
1 2nd
1 3rd
6 4ths
2 5ths
1 6th
1 7th
2 8ths

I don't think I've changed my style much at all, but it's just not working out anymore. My play stats from my most recent session (8 tourneys):

Hands Played: 370
Hands Won: 5%
Showdowns Won: 61%
Flops Seen: 20%
Win% If Flop Seen: 25%

This is limit HE. Should I disregard it as only a sample of 14 (keep in mind I had lost back nice chunk of profit previous to this bad run, too), or is there a way I can look at my game to fix it?

I don't know how to explain what has been happening to me, it seems like more often then not (almost always, actually) I'm going out on hands where I have a pretty good advantage on them, and very rarely do I pull out a "miracle" myself, as I probably shouldn't be. What could cause such a drastic change in performance?

lorinda
11-02-2004, 03:49 AM
Hard to say without more info.

Maybe post a few bubble hands if it continues.

Edit: you are reaching the top four over half the time, that is probably enough that not much has changed.

Lori

pshreck
11-02-2004, 06:20 AM
I have a feeling you are getting over involved on the bubble, maybe you are playing chip EV positive but not payout EV+.

From knowing nothing about your play.... one peice of advice that might work is lower how often you are calling for all your chips 4 handed. Of the times you were eliminated fourth, did you call someone for all your chips on something that was close to coinflips or you being dominated?