PDA

View Full Version : bankroll requirments, other questions from a newbie

bholdr
10-30-2004, 10:08 PM
I've been playing online poker for about 6 months, probably avaraging around 20 hours a week. I started and still play mostly the lowest NL games, 25 and 50$ buy-ins on pokerroom and paradise. I make about 4-5$/100 hands when i play 2+ tables more if i'm only on one.
I also play some 7 stud hi lo and omaha 8 (.50/1$ each) but these i lack feel for (for now) so i just play real tight and try to build the pot when i hit the nuts. this seems to add some stability to my win rate as each of these tables yeild about 3-4$/100 hands.
I am poor and self employed so cannot afford to put more money into these sites, sometimes i even need to withdraw some funds to cover the phone bill, etc. bottom line: if i bust out, i'm done for a while.
my roll is only about 500$ (which i consider impressive since my buy in was 50$), most advice i've read says this is not nearly enough for my limits. i also cannot stand playing the super micro limits as i am trying to get better and i already know how to wait for the nuts.

Is this strategy valid (hedging my NL play with easy hilo games) and even if it is, are there better strategys out there? how can i tweak mine? should i play more small buy-in tournaments? i hate tournaments.

How about that win rate? any good? it's still a hobby, but i'd like it to help me out in the winters (i am a career ski bum)

I've read a load of online material on pokerpages and now here, also have read sklansky's theroy of poker and supersystem (which i understood well enough not to apply it where i play), and Killer poker online by Jon V-something (i can never remember his name). any other good books/sites I am missing?

I know this is a lot of stuff but any advice will be considered and very much appreciated.

GMan42
10-30-2004, 10:37 PM