PDA

View Full Version : against three flush on 5th

07-31-2002, 06:34 PM
$10-$20 Stud with $1 ante and $5 bring-in, eight handed. I enjoy playing stud, but I have little experience against good players.

The player on my left brings it in with a deuce. All fold to the player to my right. He raises to $10 with a live Ace. I hold (J T) T. All tens and jacks are live and the player with the Ace up has excellent steal position, so I decide to re-raise to $20. Bring in folds and my only remaining opponent calls.

Me: (J T) T 8

Op: (? ?) Ad 3d

Op checks, I bet, he calls. The diamonds are fairly live.

Me: (J T) T 8 3

Op: (? ?) Ad 3d 9d

My Op check, I think for a little while and then bet again. He check-raises me. I call.

We both get blanks on 6th street. I call him both on 6th street and the river with my lone pair. He shows me a flush and a pair of treys.

#1 Do I suck?

#2 Would it have been alright if I had two pair on fifth street?

07-31-2002, 09:33 PM
Your play on 3rd and 4th was fine, but your bet on the 5th was a huge mistake. His worst possible hand is a pair with an Ace kicker and his best obviosly a made flush. There is no chance he'd fold to your raise. You should've checked here, to keep the pot small, and folded on the 6th to his bet, unless made trips giving you 4 to 1 shot of filling up matching pot odds of 4 to 1.

With 2 pairs on the 5th you have 5 to 1 shot of filling up by the river. When you got check-raised, you have to put him at least on Aces up, so you must fill up to win. There was $120 in the pot and you have to invest $40 to see the river, a 3.5 to 1 pot odd. I'd fold.

07-31-2002, 11:29 PM
that is an awfully big bring in for 10-20. was this a home game?

the reraise is probably not the best play. against an ace i think the best play is to just call and bet out. if he has aces then you save a bet and you dont want the bring in to fold since you have to improve anyway. but i cant fault a raise if he is in a steal position.