PDA

View Full Version : My first 96 $100+$9 SnGs. How am I doing?

jcm4ccc
10-29-2004, 09:48 AM
I was going to wait until my 100th SnG to post my winnings, but what the hell. I have to say, I’m feeling pretty good about my ability to win these $100 + $9 SnGs.

First, a little background. I started playing poker about a month ago, after watching it on ESPN. I started with a bankroll of $1000 and began entering some large tournaments on Empire. I had some success early on. I finished 7th in a field of 216 players, and my bankroll increased to over $1300. However, I discovered the great variability associated with the larger tournaments. My bankroll eventually fell below $900.

I started looking for other types of games. I tried limit ring games, NL ring games, until stumbling upon the SnGs. I had about $800 in my bankroll at that point. I played a few $10+$1 games, but thought, XXXX, this is ridiculous. Play for an hour to earn $39 at the most. I decided to take the plunge and play the $100 + $9 SnGs. I had enough in my bankroll for 8 $100+$9 games. I thought, if I blow the bankroll, then I’m just a complete loser and should stop dreaming about quitting my day job.

Well, as you can guess, since I’m posting this, that I didn’t lose my bankroll. I have to tell you, these SnGs are the perfect fit for the way I like to play poker. I go for the kill early, and if I flame out, well, that’s life. But when I score, I score big. Here are the details:

1. 18
2. 14
3. 10
4. 14
5. 6
6. 2
7. 2
8. 8
9. 12
10. 10

Profit: $4736
ITM: 43.8%
ROI: 45.3%

I’ve read many of the posts on twoplustwo. Seems like everybody on this website plays the same way. Conservative for the first three levels, more aggressive in the middle of the tournament, tight on the bubble, aggressive when you are in 3rd place. Blah blah blah. Frankly, if I was such a XXXXX to play like that, my wife would leave me and start XXXXing our accountant.