PDA

View Full Version : AKo, maximizing my chance to win the pot

DMBFan23
10-29-2004, 03:13 AM
If only AKo hit more flops, we wouldn't get as many posts resembling this one.

I'm relatively new to 1/2, so I just want to make sure this is SOP.

This table is tighter than .5/1 ever was. still passive though, and still not tight overall, so there's hope.

UTG+1 seems somewhat sensible, although I havent seen him show down yet. MP3 just sat down way understacked (like 8 BBs), not that that's a read. no read on BB.

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (10 handed)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with K/images/graemlins/club.gif, A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif. MP3 posts a blind of $1.
UTG folds, UTG+1 calls, UTG+2 folds, MP1 folds, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, MP3 (poster) calls, CO folds, Button folds, SB folds, BB calls, UTG+1 calls.

Flop: (8.50 SB) 3/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 6/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 2/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
BB checks, UTG+1 checks, <font color="CC3333">Hero bets</font>, MP3 calls, BB calls, UTG+1 calls.

Turn: (6.25 BB) T/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
BB checks, <font color="CC3333">UTG+1 bets</font>, Hero raises...

CWsports
10-29-2004, 03:20 AM
At best you have 6 outs and you still have 2 other people to act after you. Out of those 3 someone has you beat. KT, K3, K6, K2, AT, A3, A6, and A2 all have you reverse dominated so I'd say you probably have more like 4 outs which is 10.5:1 whereas you're only getting 7.25:1. Easy fold for me.

DMBFan23
10-29-2004, 08:46 AM
how big does the pot need to be before you raise this?

subquestion: is this a play best saved for the flop?

EDIT: also asking any future repliers these same questions.

PokerIsLife
10-29-2004, 09:04 AM