PDA

View Full Version : Incredibly important SH/flop is HU question to all you open-raisers.

Grisgra
10-27-2004, 12:49 PM
The only thing I hate about open-raising is that it seems to commit you to aggression on the flop and turn, and when you've missed a few flops in a row, it seems to cost you a lot more money than limping in and seeing if you hit TP would otherwise might.

Let's say I'm new to the 5/10 table. I open-raise from UTG +1 with QJ /images/graemlins/heart.gif.

Instance 1) Button calls, others fold.
Instance 2) BB calls, others fold.

Flop comes K /images/graemlins/spade.gif 9 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif.

1) BB checks, I bet, he calls. Turn is
1a) 2 /images/graemlins/club.gif. What do I do now?
1b) K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif What do I do now?
1c) 8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif. What do I do now?

2) I bet, button calls. Turn is
2a) 2 /images/graemlins/club.gif. What do I do now?
2b) K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif What do I do now?
2c) 8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif What do I do now?

If they both just call by turn bet (I've been betting in all of these situations), do I check/fold river, or bet it out again if it's a blank?

FYI, if an Ace or 3rd spade hit on the TURN, I'm generally betting out, thinking it's more likely it's a scare card than they were waiting for it to hit (and then folding to any raise or resistance).

FYI II: It's nice I have an inside-straight draw and a backdoor flush possibility on the flop, but I probably bet out without it anyway. Obviously, by the turn those odds have gone to hell.

There are a lot of situations LIKE this where I don't have odds, or there's an ace on the flop, or I don't have overcards to two cards on the board (and so have extra outs against middle pairs), etc., but let's cover these instances first.