PDA

View Full Version : when will this run end?????

mart_ph
10-26-2004, 03:52 PM
I could cry! Or shoot myself!

I am having such a bad run of cards. I'm still very new to SNGs having played just 48. I'm at Pokerstars playing the $5 single tables.

After the first 20 or so I was in the money about 45% of the time, and had made about $60 (about an ROI of 33% I seem to remember). My last 13 results however have been as folows (most recent first):
5, 8, 4, 3, 6, 6, 7, 5, 2, 6, 7, 7, 6.

Is this kind of thing normal in SNGs? I don't have much bankroll left, but don't want to stop playing them - they're so much more fun than ring games.

Yes, I've made a couple of ridiculous mistakes, but on the whole it seems I'm just not getting the cards. Here's how I went out of the last...

Blinds at 50/100 - 8 players left.

Hero (in small blind with 1135 chips): A /images/graemlins/heart.gif A /images/graemlins/club.gif

All fold to Villain in MP (1170 chips) who raises to 400
all fold to me, I raise to 700.
BB folds and Villain reraises to 1000.
I raise to 1135, Villain goes all-in.
He shows K /images/graemlins/heart.gif Q /images/graemlins/heart.gif!

Flop: J /images/graemlins/heart.gif A /images/graemlins/spade.gif Q /images/graemlins/club.gif
Turn: T /images/graemlins/spade.gif!

Now.... did I play that at all badly? Comments gratefully received!

Mart

Cleveland Guy
10-26-2004, 04:00 PM
Okay - I can tell your new as this is your first post.

It Is NEVER NEVER NEVER a bad play to get all your money in pre-flop with AA, escpecially when heads up.

Cashing in 2 out of 13 is a bad run, but not out of the realm, escpecially for a new player. assuming you cashed in 9 of your first 20. Your ITM is still at 33%, not great, but that is just about break even, assuming you are getting equal number of 1st, 2nd, and 3rds.