PDA

View Full Version : Moved up too soon?

LockForward
10-26-2004, 12:05 AM
Worked my way up to 300BBs for the 5/10 6max at party playing 1/2 6max at party and then 2/4 6 max at some other sites while clearing bonuses there. Have about 22,000 hands in poker tracker (VP$IP = 25.65%, W$WSF = 32.96, BB/100 =4.44, W$SD = 55.82), so I decided to take a shot at 5/10. Was running alright at begining, then I took 100BB downswing in a little under 1500 hands. Going to be dropping back down to rebuild some of the bankroll and a little confidence. I think the swing was mostly because of adjusting badly to the new level. I'm not used to not being the only player at the table who raises with something besides a big pocket pair/AK. Basicly I'm wondering whats the most important adjustment or what is something that specificly helped you when first making the move to 5/10 6 max?

jasonHoldEm
10-26-2004, 12:52 AM
I'm no expert, but losing 100 BB's in 1500 hands is a fairly common occurance (or at least it is not uncommon) so don't let it shake you up too badly. I think most people would suggest you keep a slightly larger roll for the 6-max games (maybe 400-500 BB's) to help handle the swings.

J

imitation
10-26-2004, 12:56 AM
What helped me was playing more, I moved up once took a nasty hit came down, went back played more hands and appreciate the play of the game more, also playing stars 2/4 and 3/6 is a "somewhat" similar game.

blubster
10-26-2004, 01:48 AM
probably just a bad run. i think if you can beat the 2-4 stars game you should be able to beat the 5-10 party game

blubster

helpmeout
10-26-2004, 04:31 AM
I think the 300BB BR is too small when you move up above micros (unless you can afford to lose it all).

I want a good 500+BB and 10k hands per limit now just to make sure I am ready and confident even if I lose 100BB in my first session.

kiddo
10-26-2004, 08:47 AM