PDA

View Full Version : Starting Aces with Aces showing

04-07-2002, 02:36 PM
What's a reasonable play if you have a starting pair of aces and one or both of the case aces are showing?

Some situations seem obvious: If you are left only against the ace/s and bring-in when you are first to act I'd go ahead and raise it, but what if you are next after the bring-in and have the whole field to run through.

If your kicker is completely live and you are two suited this helps, but say your kicker isn't fully live, is the hand worth playing?

I'm also curious about this same hand in hi-lo.

Anyone feel like writing a long discourse on this fairly common situation?

04-07-2002, 08:00 PM
(A-baby)A in hi/lo situations is a powerful hand no matter if aces are dead or almost dead

At high stud, I'm still studying what's the proper play....:)

Marco

04-08-2002, 01:28 AM
First, a note about terminology: the case Ace is the last Ace in the deck, so you don't refer to "both of the case Aces." /images/smile.gif

7CS4AP says that a pair of Aces is just about always playable, even if both other Aces are dead. I always raise with Aces, unless I'm the bring-in, in which case I bring it in for the minimum and hope to re-raise. I think that if your Aces are dead and you're in early position, you have all the more reason to raise, as you don't want a whole lot of players in with you. If I'm to the right of the bring-in, and five people have already limped, I usually wait until fourth street and hope to get a raise in then. This is whether my hand is live or not.