PDA

View Full Version : What to do when tilting?

kongo_totte
10-25-2004, 02:21 AM
I started playing online about a month ago, played about 8,000 hands, and things went great until two days ago. I more or less beat most NL $50 games at the site I play. Now, however, I feel I´m heading for my first tilt-ish experience, and that I´m playing weaker and weaker for every hand I play. It all started two days ago. I played about 3,5 hours multitableing 3 tables, and I kept being dealt crap. It felt like the deck contained 20 deuces and 15 sevens in 17 different suits. I kept mucking and mucking and basically didn´t see a flop all day. I kept switching tables though, since I figured I wouldn´t get any action when the cards hit me. To this point it was a bit frustrating, but I figured there wasn´t anything I could do but keep mucking, and ended the day with a small loss, very small considering the cards dealt to me IMO. So, yesterday I had almost forgotten about the previous day, but the crap just continued coming to me. That, combined with a few bad beats, really started getting to me, and now I felt my game was really getting weaker. I got frustrated, and started to play hands I wouldn´t normally, like K 7 s from UTG and crap like that. I got really insecure with my play, and when I finally got the hands I froze and didn´t know how to play them. I don’t think I’m quite there yet, but I feel I’m heading right towards tilting. So, what should I do? Take a few days off poker? Tighten up? Start playing extreme ABC? Please help me, cause it feels terrible wanting to play your best, but just not being able.

johnsy
10-25-2004, 02:32 AM