PDA

View Full Version : Playing Big Hole Cards in Low Limit Stud

03-09-2002, 06:32 PM
Stud Experts,

Most of you who will respond know that I play primarily 2-10 spread limit. The games are very soft, and the implied odds are such that any live pair with any live kicker is almost always a limping hand. So, my question is this:

If I am limping in with a buried pair of threes, should I also be limping with two live big cards (Q or above, or in some instances, a J) in the hole? I can usually blow out most of the players with a $10 bet on 4th, so if I hit my big pair, I can generally play against one or two opponents.

This is a simple question, but in a game such as I describe, should I be calling the $2 bring-in with buried big cards, hoping to improve to a percentage winner on 4th street and, if not, being able to fold for minimal cost? Only if I also have two suited cards? Any recommendations helpful.

Thanks.

Mike

03-09-2002, 10:27 PM
I'm not a stud expert but i'll give you my opinion:

- If you don't raise with your BIg pairs (hidden or split) you are giving up too much in ANY game.

Don't fear the outdraws, generally speaking you are favorite to win the pot (if you don't face an higher 3rd street pair, of course)

The problem about limping or raising with those pairs is always the same: how many higher upcards meaning probable higher pairs than yours are you looking at? About the probable hidden big pairs of your opponents check about their style of play, their 3rd raises and the liveness of cards higher than your pair.

Marco

03-09-2002, 10:43 PM
Marco,

I was talking about playing with big cards that are not paired in the hole. Thanks for the response.

Mike

03-10-2002, 12:08 AM
I tested a lot of hands played with 3 big unsuited or two suited cards.

Here's the results:

LOST, LOST, LOST!

It's even worse if you play those starting hands in a table such as yours.