PDA

View Full Version : Are odds the same for everyone?

ariesone
10-22-2004, 11:38 PM
I know this may sound like a ridiculous question, but here is why I ask. I have been playing for about seven months on-line. I started to notice after about 3 months of playing that I never seemed to hit the flush. It seemed like everyone else hit one every once in awhile. Of course as my game advanced I started applying odds. It was then that I discovered the odds were 1.9 to 1 to hit the flush on the turn and 4.1 to 1 to hit the flush on the river. My initial response to that was BS. And the reason I say that is because of this. On two seperate occasions I tracked how many times I hit the flush when I was dealt suited hole cards and two of the same suit hit on the flop. Out of 207 hands when the scenario I just described was in play, I hit the flush exactly 5 times. Does that equate to the normal odds of hitting a flush on the turn and river? I don't think so, but then again, I am no math major.

Does anyone have this problem with any poker hands? And if so, do you adjust in anyway. As an example, for me I might calculate that my odds for hitting a flush on the turn is 4.5 to 1, not 1.9 to 1. Have I really gone off the deep end in seven short months?

Spectral Sequence
10-23-2004, 12:12 AM
Yes, odds are the same for everyone (barring far-fetched online poker conspiracy theories).

By the way, the figure of 1.9:1 odds you quote for hitting the flush when you have a 4-flush on the flop are for hitting by the river, not the turn. In other words, when you have two cards to come. The odds of hitting the flush on the turn (i.e. with 1 card to come) are 4.2:1.

dogmeat
10-23-2004, 02:45 AM
Just so I understand your problem here, you say you flopped a four-flush 207 times and only made a flush five times?

Lets see:

You will be dealt two suited cards every 3.25 hands
You will flop two or more of your suit every 7.48 flops
So this happens once every 24.31 hands