PDA

View Full Version : Getting rid of the monsters under the bed.

Peter
10-22-2004, 07:06 AM
Whenever I'm the agressor preflop and on the flop, I often get scared when I get played back at on the turn or river. Ever since I started playing shorthanded it has become less of an issue, but occasionally I still get that fear.
Is the 3bet on the river standard for all of you against an unknown?

Party Poker 5/10 Hold'em (6 max, 6 handed)

Preflop: Peter is BB with A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, A/images/graemlins/club.gif.
<font color="CC3333">UTG raises</font>, MP folds, <font color="CC3333">CO 3-bets</font>, Button folds, SB folds, <font color="CC3333">Peter caps</font>, UTG calls, CO calls.

Flop: (12.40 SB) 5/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 2/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">Peter bets</font>, UTG folds, <font color="CC3333">CO raises</font>, <font color="CC3333">Peter 3-bets</font>, CO calls.

Turn: (9.20 BB) T/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">Peter bets</font>, CO calls.

River: (11.20 BB) 7/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">Peter bets</font>, <font color="CC3333">CO raises</font>, <font color="CC3333">Peter 3-bets</font>, CO calls.

Final Pot: 17.20 BB

Guido
10-22-2004, 07:16 AM
After showing that much aggression I would call. A bluff will fold to a 3-bet and most of the time when an unknown calls your 3-bet you are beaten. Can you fold against a cap?

Thanks,

Guido

Peter
10-22-2004, 07:23 AM
After the flop I'd put him on an overpair. If he had TT or 99 he would probably have raised the turn, so in my opinion the most logical hands for him to have were JJ-KK.
Then again, I might take the idea of getting rid of those monsters a little to far?

Peter

Guido
10-22-2004, 07:48 AM